Being a victor

I will not waste my days making up all kinds of ways to worry about all the things that will not happen to me.

Recently, I started a new job. That job gives me the ability to meet hundreds of people each week. At times it can be tiring to talk to people for 7 to 8 hours a day. Then again it can be very rewarding.

You see I met this young man who told me at the age of 14 he was homeless, he was also addicted to pills and other drugs. He went on to tell me that his mother had stolen $146,000 from him that he received in a settlement from an accident. His mom also had a problem she was a drug addict. He was so mad at his mom that he decided he was going to live life on his own terms and in that moment he made a choice.

At the age of 14 he decided he was going to live his life on his own terms and get away from his problems. However, to escape those problems he chose to medicate him self. 12 years has since passed and he now has a job where he comes face-to-face with junkies, who try to steal from him each day to support their habit.

Sometimes we meet people and we meet people for certain reasons. Earlier that week a family member told me that my father who I haven’t seen her for four years is now homeless. At first I really didn’t know how to respond to it and I didn’t even know what to say. It’s not something that you want anyone to hear. Unfortunately, because of the choices that my dad has made to this point in his life, this was part of the consequences. At first I was mad then a part of me was afraid for him. Now, I just want him to know that he is loved and cared for because I think that is what he needs the most.

After talking to the young man he admitted to me that the way he has lived his life was in part making poor choices and not accepting responsibility for his actions. He doesn’t blame his drug addiction on a disease he blames it on himself. That takes a lot of courage.

For some people bad news is debilitating and understandably so. However, once you realize that life is a byproduct of ups and downs you’re able to enjoy and truly live in certain moments. With all that going on I’ve been able to maintain my focus and keep a positive outlook, while having met someone really cool. She is really goofy but very caring. She understands, values, and respects many of the same things that I do and that is refreshing.

So with all that is ever-changing, the ups and downs. One thing remains the same, we have the choice to live in the moments or let them pass us by because we get caught up in things we can’t control. 

The young man above is a victor because he overcame his addiction and can help others through his story. I want people to learn from the stories I write and share. I made a decision to write about hard topics because WE ALL go through tough times. We bend, but we don’t have to break when we get bad news. It is a conscious choice to react to things or we can act on them.

Leave a Reply

